Cincinnati Bengals History

Cincinnati Bengals - Team History

Cincinnati Bengals, professional football team and one of six teams in the Central Division of the American Football Conference (AFC) of the National Football League (NFL). Under the league’s realignment plan, which will take affect in 2002, the Bengals will play in the North Division of the AFC. The Bengals play at Cinergy Field in Cincinnati, Ohio, and are scheduled to move to a new venue, Paul Brown Stadium, in the 2000 season. The team wears uniforms of orange, black, and white. The franchise was named after the Cincinnati Bengals football team that played in the now-defunct American Football League between 1937 and 1941.

The Bengals joined a different American Football League (AFL) as an expansion team in 1968. The club was organized by Paul Brown, who as a coach had won three NFL titles with the Cleveland Browns during the 1950s. In the Bengals’ first season, running back Paul Robinson led the AFL in rushing and was named rookie of the year.

Cincinnati joined the NFL in 1970 when the NFL and AFL completed their merger. The team won the AFC Central Division in its first NFL season, relying especially on an outstanding defense that starred cornerbacks Lemar Parrish and Ken Riley. In the playoffs the Bengals lost in the first round.

Brown guided the Bengals to postseason appearances again in 1973 and 1975, and Ken Anderson emerged as one of the NFL’s finest quarterbacks. He won three consecutive passing titles from 1973 to 1975 with the help of wide receiver Isaac Curtis and tight end Bob Trumpy. Another favorite target of Anderson was running back Boobie Clark, the 1973 rookie of the year. Cincinnati lost in the first round of the playoffs in both 1973 and 1975.

Following several coaching changes and mixed results over the next few seasons, the Bengals won the division crown in 1981 under head coach Forrest Gregg, a former offensive tackle and a member of the Hall of Fame. Anderson won his fourth passing title, and running back Pete Johnson and rookie wide receiver Cris Collinsworth each gained more than 1,000 yards. In the playoffs, Cincinnati defeated the Buffalo Bills and the San Diego Chargers before losing to the San Francisco 49ers in the Super Bowl, 26-21.

The Bengals remained competitive throughout the mid-1980s. Boomer Esiason replaced Anderson in 1985 and, like his predecessor, became one of the NFL’s premier quarterbacks. Following a 4-11 win-loss record in 1987, Cincinnati finished the 1988 season with a 12-4 mark. Esiason won the first of his two NFC passing titles and shared player of the year honors with Philadelphia Eagles quarterback Randall Cunningham. Running back James Brooks, wide receiver Eddie Brown, and tackle Anthony Munoz also starred in the AFC’s top-rated offense. In the playoffs the Bengals advanced to their second Super Bowl of the decade. Once there, however, Cincinnati again lost to the 49ers when San Francisco scored a last-minute touchdown.

In 1990 Cincinnati won its fifth division title. Esiason notched his sixth consecutive 3,000-yard season, a club record. The Bengals won a total of just 11 games from 1992 to 1994, and the team continued to struggle for much of the rest of the 1990s.

1982 Super Bowl XVI Lost to San Francisco 49ers, 26-21

1989 Super Bowl XXIII Lost to San Francisco 49ers, 20-16

NFL History Guide

AFC East

AFC North

AFC South AFC West

Bills History
Dolphins History
Patriots History
Jets History

Ravens History
Bengals History
Browns History
Steelers History

Colts History
Jaguars History
Texans History
Titans History

Broncos History
Chiefs History
Raiders History
Chargers History

NFC East NFC North NFC South NFC West

Cowboys History
Falcons History
Eagles History
Redskins History

Bears History
Lions History
Packers History
Vikings History

Giants History
Panthers History
Saints History
Buccaneers History

Cardinals History
Seahawks History
Rams History
49ers History

powered by molduras para fotos