Buffalo Bills History

Buffalo Bills - Team History

Buffalo Bills, professional football team and one of five teams in the Eastern Division of the American Football Conference (AFC) of the National Football League (NFL). The Bills play at Ralph Wilson Stadium in Buffalo, New York, and wear uniforms of royal blue, scarlet, and white. The team was named by the organization’s first president, Ralph C. Wilson, Jr., after American scout, guide, and showman William Frederick Cody, who was known as Buffalo Bill for his ability to kill buffalo.

The Bills built powerful teams in both the now-defunct American Football League (AFL) and the NFL. The team won consecutive AFL titles in 1964 and 1965 with teams that starred running back Cookie Gilchrist and quarterback Jack Kemp. During the 1970s Bills running back O. J. Simpson became one of the most prolific rushers in professional football history, breaking nearly every NFL rushing record. Buffalo appeared in four consecutive Super Bowls from 1991 through 1994 with teams starring linebacker Cornelius Bennett, quarterback Jim Kelly, defensive end Bruce Smith, and running back Thurman Thomas.

Buffalo became a charter member of the AFL in 1960. After four mediocre seasons, the team won the Eastern Division in 1964 under head coach Lou Saban, who was named AFL coach of the year. Also that year, the Bills’ star kicker, Hungarian-born Pete Gogolak, became professional football’s first soccer-style kicker, using the side of his foot rather than his toe to propel the football. The Bills beat the San Diego Chargers in the 1964 AFL Championship Game. A year later they repeated the feat. Saban again won top coaching honors, and Jack Kemp was named the league’s most valuable player (MVP).

After posting the AFL’s worst record in 1968, the Bills used their number-one pick in the 1969 AFL draft to select O. J. Simpson. A year later, Buffalo joined the NFL when the AFL and NFL completed their merger. In 1972 Simpson won the first of his four AFC rushing titles, and the next season he ran for 2,003 yards, breaking the NFL record held by Jim Brown of the Cleveland Browns. Eric Dickerson of the Los Angeles Rams (now St. Louis Rams) broke Simpson’s record in 1984 with 2,105 yards. The Bills had little postseason success during Simpson’s time with the club, and he left the team in 1977.

Led by veteran quarterback Joe Ferguson and rookie running back Joe Cribbs, Buffalo made the playoffs in 1980, and Chuck Knox was named AFC coach of the year. The Bills continued to improve during the 1980s, reaching the playoffs again in 1981 and acquiring key players such as quarterback Jim Kelly, running back Thurman Thomas, and wide receiver Andre Reed.

In 1988 the Bills reached the AFC Championship Game for the first time since joining the NFL. Buffalo’s Eastern Division title was the first of five that the team captured from 1988 to 1993. The team combined a potent offense with defensive standouts such as Cornelius Bennett and Bruce Smith. In 1991 the Bills lost the first of four consecutive Super Bowls. The margins of defeat ranged from a 1-point loss to the New York Giants in 1991 to a 35-point rout at the hands of the Dallas Cowboys in 1993. Although Bennett left the team after the 1995 season and Kelly retired in 1996, Buffalo continued to be a dominant force in the AFC Eastern Division in the mid- and late 1990s. Before the 2000 season Buffalo retooled its roster and released popular stars Andre Reed, Bruce Smith, and Thurman Thomas.

1991 Super Bowl XXV Lost to New York Giants, 20-19

1992 Super Bowl XXVI Lost to Washington Redskins, 37-24

1993 Super Bowl XXVII Lost to Dallas Cowboys, 52-17

1994 Super Bowl XXVIII Lost to Dallas Cowboys, 30-13

NFL History Guide

AFC East

AFC North

AFC South AFC West

Bills History
Dolphins History
Patriots History
Jets History

Ravens History
Bengals History
Browns History
Steelers History

Colts History
Jaguars History
Texans History
Titans History

Broncos History
Chiefs History
Raiders History
Chargers History

NFC East NFC North NFC South NFC West

Cowboys History
Falcons History
Eagles History
Redskins History

Bears History
Lions History
Packers History
Vikings History

Giants History
Panthers History
Saints History
Buccaneers History

Cardinals History
Seahawks History
Rams History
49ers History

powered by molduras para fotos